SSH Rate

EU Prize for Cultural Heritage / Europa Nostra Awards

The EU Prize for Cultural Heritage / Europa Nostra Awards (as of 2019 the European Heritage Awards / Europa Nostra Awards) has further strengthened the capacity of the heritage sector in Europe by highlighting best practices, encouraging the cross-border exchange of knowledge and connecting various stakeholders in wider networks. The Awards have also brought major benefits to the winners, such as greater (inter)national exposure, follow-on funding and increased visitor numbers. In addition, the Awards scheme has raised awareness of our shared heritage amongst the general public while highlighting its intrinsic European character. The Awards are therefore a key tool to promote Europe’s heritage.

In the past 16 years, organisations and individuals from 39 countries have submitted a total of 2,883 applications for the Awards. Concerning the number of entries by country, Spain is first in the ranking, with 516 projects, followed by Italy, with 296 entries, and the United Kingdom, with 289 applications. With regard to the categories, Conservation has had the most submissions (1,677). Next comes Education, Training and Awareness-Raising (505), then Research (362), and, finally, Dedicated Service to Heritage (339).

Since 2002, independent expert juries have selected 485 award-winning projects from 34 countries. In line with the number of entries, Spain tops the list with 64 awards received. The United Kingdom is in second place (60 awards) and Italy comes third (41 awards). Regarding the categories, Conservation has the most winners (279) followed by Dedicated Service to Heritage and Education, Training and Awareness-Raising (73 each), and, lastly, Research (60).

A total of 109 Grand Prix of €10,000 have been presented to outstanding heritage initiatives, selected from among the award-winning projects.


All the winners receive a certificate as well as a bronze wall plaque to be put up at the awarded building or heritage site.

The Grand Prix laureates also receive €10,000 each.


Specialist juries made up of independent experts assess the nominated projects and select the winners in the four categories. Criteria for the assessment of entries include excellence in the work executed and preliminary research conducted, as well as respect for artistic, cultural and social value, setting, authenticity and integrity. Special attention will also be paid to sustainability, interpretation and presentation, educational work, funding and management, social responsibility, and audience development.


Outstanding achievements in the conservation, enhancement and adaptation to new uses of cultural heritage.Projects should have involved restoration or conservation of a structure or site, its adaptation to new uses, building additions or alterations, or new design in conservation areas. The building / site / work(s) of art must be accessible to the public. Buildings or sites that are regularly visited or used by large numbers of people, for instance schools or office premises, are considered accessible. Private buildings or sites that are regularly open to visitors are also considered accessible.


Outstanding research projects that lead to tangible effects in the conservation and enhancement of cultural heritage in Europe. The project must have been completed within the past three (3) years: September 2013 – September 2016. If the study is a preliminary research carried out before a now completed intervention, please submit the entry as a Category Conservation project only.

Dedicated service by individuals or organisations

Open to individuals or organisations whose contributions over a long period of time demonstrate excellence in the protection, conservation and enhancement of cultural heritage in Europe. Entries must be nominated by a third party only. Nominations may not be submitted by a family member of a nominated individual or by a member / employee of a nominated organisation

Education, training and awareness-raising

Outstanding initiatives related to education, training and awareness-raising in the field of tangible and/or intangible cultural heritage, to promote and/or to contribute to the sustainable development of the environment. The projects should be ongoing and sufficiently advanced to have led to tangible results , exemplary, sustainable and applicable in other parts of Europe.


Entries may be submitted from the countries that take part in the Creative Europe programme. You can still apply for a Europa Nostra Award if your country is not on the list of eligible countries.

Countries eligible for the European Heritage Awards:

Albania, Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, FYROM, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Moldova, Montenegro, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, United Kingdom and Ukraine.

Countries eligible for the Europa Nostra Awards only:

Andorra, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, the Holy See, Kosovo, Liechtenstein, Monaco, the Russian Federation, San Marino, Switzerland and Turkey.

Application date
15 Nov 2018
European Union
Humanities Anthropology & Ethnology Archaeology Architecture Art & Art History Classical Studies Digital Humanities History
Required post-doc experience: 
between 0 and 99 years
Award granted
Up to € 10.000