SSH Rate

Hosenfeld/Szpilman Price

Under the patronage of the former Polish President Bronislaw Komorowski and the former German President Prof. Dr. Roman Herzog, the Leuphana University of Lüneburg awards the Hosenfeld/Szpilman Price for the seventh time, donated by the foundation evz: Erinnerung, Verantwortung und Zukunft.

In the last months of the year 1944, the German Armed Forces Officer Wilm Hosenfeld met the Polish composer Wladyslaw Szpilman in the ruins of Warsaw, hid him, provided him with food and thus saved his live. The prize is intended to emphasize the importance of ethical resistance and to remember to the friendship between Wilm Hosenfeld and Wladyslaw Spzilman after the war. Generally, submissions can either refer to ethical resistance in the National Socialist era or to the work of the composer Wladyslaw Szpilman. Submissions from the following areas are accepted:

  • Studies in musicology or art projecs that refer to the work of the composer and pianist Wladyslaw Szpilman
  • Reserach projects or works of art that deal with the work of musicians persecuted by the National Socialists.
  • Works in historical, political, cultural, linguistic, musical or philosophical studies that consider civil resistance against the National Socialists‘ persecution and oppression.
  • Pedagogical works that substantially foster ethical resistance or the Polish-German relations.

Young researchers and artists are strongly encouraged to apply. Submissions should include two copies of the work respectively the work‘s documentation, a summary emphasizing the work‘s relevance with respect to the advertisement (maximum of two pages), and a short curriculum vitae.

Submissions will be reviewed by an expertjury. The price ceremony will be on the 27th of January 2017.

The prize is endowed with 7.500 Euros.

Application date
15 Oct 2016
Europe Germany
Humanities Art & Art History History Linguistics Literature Music & Musicology Philosophy Social sciences Pedagogic & Education Research Political science
Required post-doc experience: 
between 0 and 99 years
Award granted
€ 7.500