SSH Rate

Josef G. Knoll European Science Award on Food and Nutrition Security

The Eiselen-Foundation presented this science award every two years since 1986 with the aim of supporting young academics whose work focuses on helping to reduce hunger and malnutrition in developing countries. This will be continued by the Foundation fiat panis from 2010 on. The award is named after Professor Dr. Josef G. Knoll, the pioneer of agricultural research in Germany with regard to developing countries.

The value of the award is EUR 30,000. It can be divided between up to three recipients (a minimum of EUR 10,000 per award winner). We reserve the right to withhold or to grant only part of the total amount. The decision is up to the jury.

Research topics

The objective of the award is to encourage young academics whose research concentrates on solutions to mitigate hunger in food deficit countries. The research findings must be user-oriented and suitable to contribute towards:

  • improving the status of food and nutrition security of a certain local population;
  • reducing the impact of hunger (under nutrition and malnutrition).

The work can deal with one of the following disciplines:

  • Agricultural sciences:
    • Plant production, plant protection and plant breeding;
    • Soil sciences;
    • Animal production, including animal hygiene, fishery and aquaculture;
    • Agricultural engineering;
  • Agricultural economics and social sciences of developing countries;
  • Ecology and biology;
  • Resource management and protection, including water;
  • Nutrition sciences;
  • Geosciences;
  • Food technology;
  • Post-harvest management;
  • Agroforestry.

Preference will be given to scientific work that shows how the research findings can be applied. Of particular interest is scientific work that has been carried out with the participation of local people and results of which have been tested under local conditions. A minimum requirement is that the work outlines suggestions how the results can be tested and applied.


Eligible are individuals under the age of 40 and teams whose members have not reached their 40th birthday by the application deadline, providing they have successfully completed a doctorate at a European university.

Those eligible to apply are as follows:

a) Academics who have completed their doctoral thesis and who have had at least one article published or accepted for publication in an internationally recognized journal (ISI-Web-listed journal);

b) Academics who have submitted their Habilitationsschrift (post-doctoral thesis), accepted by the relevant university committees.

The submitted work should - at the time of application - be published or submitted for publishing. The date of publication should be not more than two years prior the application deadline. The work can be in German or English.

The work must not have been and may not be submitted in application for another award before the decision of the jury. If this regulation is violated the work will be excluded from the competition. Applicants already awarded with a prize for their work are not allowed to apply.


A jury, which is composed of three distinguished university teachers and appointed bythe Foundation’s board of trustees, decides which scientific works are honoured. The jury makes its decisions with a simple majority of votes. It may consult further experts.

The jury may ask applicants for any additional information or further explanation deemed necessary for the assessment of the work. In such cases the work remains in the assessment process only if the deadline, set for replying to the questions and remarks is met.

The jury will not give reasons for its decisions.

Application date
30 Apr 2016
Europe Germany
Social sciences Business and Administrative Sciences Demography Economics Environmental Sciences Geography Other Agronomy Biology Chemistry Engineering Medicine
Required post-doc experience: 
between 0 and 99 years
Grants available
Award granted
Up to € 30.000