Dedman College of Humanities and Sciences

Southern Methodist University

Dedman College was named in 1981 for the late Robert H. Dedman Sr. and his wife, Nancy McMillan Dedman, SMU alumni whose gift endowed the college and enables SMU to remain committed to its legacy as a liberal arts university.

In addition to being the oldest academic unit at SMU, Dedman College is also the largest. Students in Dedman College have the advantage of exploring 38 undergraduate majors, 56 minors, 17 master’s programs and 14 doctoral degrees offered in 16 academic departments spanning the humanities, social sciences, natural sciences, mathematics, statistics and interdisciplinary studies. 

Southern Methodist University

Southern Methodist University (SMU) is a private research university in Dallas, University Park, and Highland Park, Texas. Founded in 1911 by the Methodist Episcopal Church, South, SMU operates satellite campuses in Plano, Texas, and Taos, New Mexico. SMU is owned by the South Central Jurisdiction of the United Methodist Church. Of the university's 11,643 students, 6,411 are undergraduates.

  • Go international
America United States South West
Institution type
Foreign Institutions Universities and university institutes