EU-LAC Foundation

Created in May 2010 by the 6th Summit of Heads of State and Government, the European Union-Latin America and Caribbean Foundation (EU-LAC Foundation) took up its activities in November 2011.

It has its seat in the city of Hamburg, Germany. The EU-LAC Foundation has 62 members: the 33 states of Latin America and the Caribbean, the 28 members of the European Union, and the European Union institutions.

The Foundation aims at transforming the strategic partnership between the European Union, Latin America and the Caribbean, which was adopted in 1999, into a strengthened and visible reality in which the respective societies participate actively.


  • Connecting the intergovernmental process with the business, academic, and social sector, as well as, in a broad and general manner, the civil society of both regions.
  • Promoting the development of a joint and evolving global vision and a shared strategy in both regions.
  • Dynamising the bi-regional strategic partnership by giving impulses to the formulation and implementation of policies and agendas.
  • Disseminating knowledge to improve the mutual understanding and visibility of both regions and the bi-regional partnership itself.


Our aspiration is for the economic and socio-cultural partnership between the countries of the European Union, Latin America and the Caribbean to reach a sustainable dynamism, built upon the achievement of mutual benefits. Reaching these benefits requires the societies of both regions to recognise that they are united not only by the need to achieve their interests, but also by a body of common values. These include, among others:

  • Democracy and the rule of law
  • Respect for personal dignity and rights
  • Tolerance
  • Inclusive and cohesive societies
America Europe
Institution type
Foreign Institutions Foundations (public/private)