Fordham University

Fordham University is a private, nonprofit, coeducational research university in New York City, United States. It was founded by the Catholic Diocese of New York in 1841 as St. John's College, placed in the care of the Society of Jesus shortly thereafter, and has since become an independent institution under a lay board of trustees, which describes the university as "in the Jesuit tradition."

Fordham is composed of ten constituent colleges, four of which are for undergraduates and six of which are for postgraduates. It enrolls approximately 15,000 students across three campuses in New York State: Rose Hill in the Bronx, Lincoln Center in Manhattan and Westchester in West Harrison. In addition to these campuses, the university maintains a study abroad center in the United Kingdom and field offices in Spain and South Africa. Fordham awards the Bachelor of Arts, Bachelor of Science, and Bachelor of Fine Arts degrees, as well as various masters and doctoral degrees.

The 2017 edition of U.S. News & World Report lists Fordham as a "more selective" national university and ranks it tied for 60th in this category. Fordham University School of Law is currently ranked 37th in the United States, while Fordham's graduate programs in business, English, history, social work, education, and sociology are ranked among the top 100 in the nation. The university has been historically renowned for its humanities programs, with its alumni ranking among the top 5 highest-paid humanities graduates of any university in the country. Fordham University has produced at least 102 Fulbright Scholars since 2003.

  • Go international
America United States Mid-Atlantic
Institution type
Foreign Institutions Universities and university institutes