Universidade Estadual Paulista Júlio de Mesquita Filho (UNESP)

São Paulo State University (Portuguese: Universidade Estadual Paulista "Júlio de Mesquita Filho", UNESP) is one of the six public universities of the Brazilian state of São Paulo, with USP, UFABC, UNIFESP, UFSCar and UNICAMP. It is part of the state’s higher education system.

UNESP has a combined student body of almost 40,000 spread among its 23 campuses. The first of them is the Araraquara Pharmacy and Odontology Faculty, founded in 1923 and incorporated by the state of São Paulo in 1956. Before the university’s official foundation in 1976, its original 12 campuses were public independent faculties.

UNESP has 33 faculties or institutes, 30 libraries, two hospitals, three animal hospitals, five farms and seven complementary units.

São Paulo State University is considered the sixth most important university in Brazil, according to the Ranking Universitário Folha, ninth most important university in the QS Latin American University Rankings. It is ranked amongst the 300 best universities in the world as of the "Academic Ranking of World Universities - 2012" and third best in the QS World University Ranking#Brics 2014.

America Brazil
Institution type
Foreign Institutions Universities and university institutes