University of New South Wales (UNSW)

The University of New South Wales (UNSW; branded as UNSW Sydney) is an Australian public research university located in the suburb of Kensington in Sydney. Established in 1949, it is regarded as one of the country's leading universities.

In 2016, it was the number one university preference for high school students in the State of New South Wales.

In the 2016 QS World University Rankings UNSW was ranked globally as 49th overall, 11th in the world for Accounting and Finance (1st in Australia), 14th for law (3rd in Australia), and 16th in civil and structural engineering (1st in Australia). UNSW has produced more millionaires than any other university in Australia.

The university comprises eight faculties, through which it offers bachelor, master and doctoral degrees. The main campus is located on a 38-hectare site in the Sydney suburb of Kensington, seven kilometres from the centre of Sydney. The creative arts faculty, UNSW Art & Design, is located in Paddington, UNSW Canberra is located at the Australian Defence Force Academy in Canberra and sub-campuses are located in the Sydney CBD, the suburbs of Randwick and Coogee. Research stations are located throughout the state of New South Wales.

UNSW is a founding member of the Group of Eight, a coalition of Australian research-intensive universities, and of Universitas 21, a global network of research universities. It has international exchange and research partnerships with over 200 universities around the world.

Oceania Australia
Institution type
Foreign Institutions Universities and university institutes