University of Perugia

University of Perugia (Università degli Studi di Perugia) is a public-owned university based in Perugia, Italy. It was founded in 1308, as attested by the Bull issued by Pope Clement V certifying the birth of the Studium Generale.

With its 11 faculties and a vast selection of first and second level and single cycle degree programs, the University of Perugia offers its main courses in Perugia and Terni, and specialized programs throughout the Umbria region in the cities of Assisi, Città di Castello, Foligno, Orvieto, and Spoleto.

The faculties into which the university is divided are:

  • Faculty of Agriculture
  • Faculty of Economics
  • Faculty of Education
  • Faculty of Engineering
  • Faculty of Humanities
  • Faculty of Law
  • Faculty of Mathematics, Physics and Natural Sciences
  • Faculty of Medicine
  • Faculty of Pharmacy
  • Faculty of Political Science
  • Faculty of Veterinary Medicine

Its research programs are conducted by 29 departments with a total of 1,200 full-time staff. The University’s activities also include 25 service organizations and research centers as well as 11 libraries with rich collections and equipment. It had a total enrolment of over 31,000 students for the 2004-2005 academic year.

Europe Italy
Institution type
Non French Institutions University or university institute