SSH Rate

Call for nominations: Holberg Prize

The Holberg Prize was established by the Norwegian Parliament in 2003 and is awarded annually to a scholar who have made outstanding contributions to research in the arts and humanities, social science, law or theology. The prize may be awarded both for work within a particular academic discipline and for work of a cross disciplinary nature. The prize winner must have had a decisive influence on international research.

The Prize money value is NOK 4,5 million (approximately 495,000 EUR / USD 524 000*).The Holberg Prize Board awards the Prize at the recommendation of the Holberg Committee. The function of the nomination is to make the Committee aware of the candidate’s work. The Holberg Prize Laureate will be announced in March and the award ceremony takes place in Bergen, Norway, in early June.

Scholars holding positions at universities and other research institutions, including academies, are entitled to nominate candidates to the Holberg Prize. The nomination letter should be written in English and provide a statement of maximum 1 page justifying why the candidate should recieve the Holberg Prize. The nomination should also include the candidate’s CV and suggest at least three referees who know the scholar´s work.

The Holberg Committee particularly encourages nomination of established scholars below the age of seventy. Joint nominations do not strengthen a candidacy. Nominations are strictly confidential and should not be disclosed to the nominee or to others at any time. The deadline for next year has passed. The deadline nominations for the Holberg Prize 2019 is 15 June, 2018. 

Application date
15 Jun 2018
Europe Norway
Humanities Anthropology & Ethnology Archaeology Architecture Art & Art History Classical Studies Digital Humanities History Linguistics Literature Media Studies Music & Musicology Philosophy Religion & Theology Social sciences Business and Administrative Sciences Communication Sciences Demography Economics Environmental Sciences Gender Studies Geography International Relations Law Pedagogic & Education Research Political science Psychology & Cognitive Sciences Social Anthropology Sociology
Required post-doc experience: 
between 0 and 99 years
Award granted
NOK 4.500.000