Hodson Trust - John Carter Brown Library Fellowship

Literature, History, Culture, or Art of the Americas before 1830

The Starr Center for the Study of the American Experience and the John Carter Brown Library invite applications for the Hodson Trust-John Carter Brown Library Fellowship, a unique research and writing fellowship. The deadline for applications for the 2019-2020 fellowship is March 15, 2019.

The Hodson Trust - John Carter Brown Library Fellowship supports work by academics, independent scholars and writers working on significant projects relating to the literature, history, culture, or art of the Americas before 1830. Candidates with a U.S. history topic are strongly encouraged to concentrate on the period prior to 1801. The fellowship is also open to filmmakers, novelists, creative and performing artists, and others working on projects that draw on this period of history. Candidates are encouraged to consult the John Carter Brown Library’s collections online prior to submitting an application.

The fellowship award supports two months of research and two months of writing. The stipend is $5,000 per month for a total of $20,000, plus housing and university privileges. The research is conducted at the John Carter Brown Library on the campus of Brown University in Providence, Rhode Island. The two-month writing period of the fellowship will be at the Starr Center at Washington College in Chestertown during the summer following the research term.

Questions may be directed to Patrick Nugent, Starr Center Deputy Director at .

Deadline for applications is March 15, 2019. Applications must be submitted via email in a single pdf document to 

All email correspondence must include applicant’s full name in the subject line.

Application date
15 Mar 2019
4 months
America United States New England
Humanities Anthropology & Ethnology Architecture Art & Art History Digital Humanities History Linguistics Literature Music & Musicology Philosophy Religion & Theology
Required post-doc experience: 
between 0 and 99 years
Award granted
US$ 20.000