Curtin University

Curtin University (a trademark of Curtin University of Technology) is an Australian public research university based in Bentley, Perth, Western Australia. The university is named after the 14th Prime Minister of Australia, John Curtin, and is the largest university in Western Australia, with over 50,000 students (as of 2014) at locations including Perth, Margaret River, Kalgoorlie, Sydney, Malaysia and Singapore.

Curtin was conferred university status after legislation was passed by the Parliament of Western Australia in 1986. Since then, the university has been expanding its presence and has campuses in Sydney, Singapore, and Sarawak. It has ties with 90 exchange universities in 20 countries. The University comprises five main faculties with over 95 specialists centres.

Curtin University is a member of Australian Technology Network (ATN), and is active in research in a range of academic and practical fields, including Resources and Energy (e.g., petroleum gas), Information and Communication, Health, Ageing and Well-being (Public Health), Communities and Changing Environments, , Growth and Prosperity and Creative Writing.


From 2007, the university's teaching and research is divided into five faculties (previously known as divisions). These are:

Centre for Aboriginal Studies

Curtin Business School

  • School of Accounting
  • School of Business Law and Taxation
  • School of Economics and Finance
  • School of Information Systems
  • School of Management
  • School of Marketing
  • Curtin Law School
  • Graduate School of Business

Faculty of Health Sciences

  • School of Nursing, Midwifery and Paramedicine
  • School of Biomedical Science
  • School of Occupational Therapy and Social Work
  • School of Pharmacy
  • School of Physiotherapy and Exercise Science
  • School of Psychology and Speech Pathology
  • School of Public Health

Faculty of Humanities

  • School of Built Environment
  • School of Design and Art
  • School of Media, Culture and Creative Arts
  • School of Education

Faculty of Science and Engineering

  • School of Science
  • School of Chemical and Petroleum Engineering
  • School of Civil and Mechanical Engineering
  • School of Electrical Engineering and Computing
  • Western Australian School of Mines
Oceania Australia
Institution type
Non French Institutions University or university institute