Sorbonne Nouvelle University Paris 3

The New Sorbonne University (Université de la Sorbonne Nouvelle, also known as Paris III) is a public university in Paris, France. The French cultural revolution of 1968, commonly known as "the French May", resulted in the division of the world's second oldest academic institution, the University of Paris, into thirteen autonomous universities. New Sorbonne University is one of the inheritors of the former arts, languages and humanities faculties of the University of Paris ("the Old Sorbonne").

La Sorbonne Nouvelle —as well as Pantheon-Sorbonne and Paris-Sorbonne (Paris I and IV respectively) -- is often referred to as the Sorbonne or La Sorbonne after the theological college (Collège de Sorbonne) founded in 1257 by Robert de Sorbon of the historic University of Paris.

La Sorbonne (Paris III) offers courses in a wide range of Arts and Humanities subjects, areas on which - according to the 2012 QS World University Rankings- the university is among the best 150 in the world.

Sorbonne Paris Cité

The Université de la Sorbonne Nouvelle is member of the Sorbonne Paris Cité, a union of the following Parisian universities:

  • Université Sorbonne Nouvelle - Paris 3
  • Université Paris Descartes (Paris 5)
  • Université Paris Diderot (Paris 7)
  • Université Paris 13|Université Paris Nord (Paris 13)
  • Institut d'études politiques de Paris (Sciences Po)
  • Institut national des langues et civilisations orientales|INALCO (Langues O)
  • École des hautes études en santé publique (EHESP)
  • Institut de physique du globe de Paris
  • Come to France
Europe France Paris Île-de-France
Institution type
French Institutions Universities, Schools, and their research units